PM’s Literary Awards Winners in Conversation

The Wheeler Centre

Event Date: 
12 April 2018
Author / Presenters: 
Thuy On, Cath Crowley, Ryan O'Neill, and Elizabeth Tynan

What is Australian literature? What was Australian literature? And where is our literary culture taking us? We’ll ask three recent winners of one of the country’s most prestigious literary prizes, the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

Now in its tenth year, the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards recognises outstanding literary merit in Australian literature. In this conversation, we’ll explore what constitutes Australian literature in 2018. How do we imagine this country? Do books written by Australian authors reflect the obsessions, the divisions and the evolution of Australian society? Do they challenge us? What are we telling the world about ourselves through our creative culture?

Join Elizabeth Tynan (2017 Australian history winner), Ryan O’Neill (2017 fiction winner) and Cath Crowley (2017 Young Adult category winner) for a conversation about books, writing and national character.

Robinsons Bookshop will be our bookseller for this event.